Best Things To Do in Düsseldorf: One Day and Two Day Itinerary

Tired of the usual haunts like Berlin and Frankfurt? How about a quick stop to the colorful city of Düsseldorf? 

Here are some of the reasons why you should explore Düsseldorf, as well as travel tips and a sample one and two day itinerary! 

Why should you visit Dusseldorf?

Known as a young and vibrant city, Düsseldorf has been considered as the country’s most prominent university town. Many scholars and artists also claim it as an important center for the arts, culture, and fashion. Did you know that it is one of the cities with the most museums and galleries in Germany? With 20 plus museums to choose from all located close to one another, you can learn and embrace the history and culture of Düsseldorf very easily.  

With its wide streets lined with elegant shops, parks, and gardens, it also boasts of a lively downtown area. Case in point: Düsseldorf is famous for the “longest bar in the world” in Altstadt (the Old Town).

When should you visit Dusseldorf? 

Most travel sites would tell you to visit during September to December, but there is really no “best time” to visit Düsseldorf as its charm surpasses any given weather or season. And as with any other trip, you have to consider your schedule and the activities you want to do. 

One Day in Dusseldorf Itinerary

Here is your travel guide to spending 24 or 48 hours in Dusseldorf.

Breakfast: Rosie’s 

Start your day at this cozy bar serving a delicious breakfast and continental cuisine with vegan and gluten free options. Did we mention that this restaurant is also very Instagram-friendly? Perfect for your coffee o’clock Instagram story!

Rosie’s 

Open 10am to 1am 

Adersstrasse 21, 40215 Dusseldorf

+49 211 8766666

Morning Activity: Rheinturm and Schifffahrtsmuseum (Maritime Museum)

The Rhine Tower is undeniably Düsseldorf’s most recognizable landmark. It stands proud by the edge of the city center’s southern district. The viewing platform is accessible from 10 am until midnight. 

Positioned at the top of the tower at a height of 172.5 metres, is a revolving restaurant that rotates around its own axis once every 72 minutes. It also has a separate viewing platform which gives you a breath-taking view of the metropolis. However, this is only open from 6 pm onwards.

If you’re not too tired and can spare an hour or so before lunch, you can also drop by Naval Museum or the Maritime Museum. It is a research facility that doubles as a museum! 

Rhine Tower

Viewing platform is open from 10 am to 6 pm 

Stromstrasse 20, 40221 Düsseldorf

+49 211 8632000

 

Maritime Museum 

Open 10am to 6pm 

German Maritime Museum

Hans-Scharoun-Platz 1

D-27568 Bremerhaven

+49 471 482 07 0

 

Lunch: Explore and eat in Old Town – Bob & Mary’s

Düsseldorfs Altstadt (Old Town) consists of around 260 pubs and bars, and therefore is known as the longest bar in the world! 

For some grub, go to Bob & Mary’s, best known for their juicy burgers and tasty salads. Bob’s Burger Patties are made daily from 100% fresh German beef with a large roast beef portion. You can also try different types of burgers such as Avocado Burger and Goat Burger! 

Bob & Mary’s 

Berger Str. 35, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia Germany

+49 211 86930710

Afternoon Activity: River Rhine Cruise 

Explore this fun city through its river! The best part is you can get fantastic views of both the old and modern parts of town! Most of these cruises just last an hour or two hours long and would set you back around €15 to €25, depending on the duration of the trip and if you pick a return or one-way ticket. 

There are several operators of this river cruise so we suggest that you do your research ahead of time and book tickets early! 

Dinner: Have dinner and drinks at one of the bars on Rhine promenade after cruise at Kasematten Düsseldorf

After the cruise, continue enjoying the sights and sounds of the city by dining at one of the restaurants along the Rhine. You can’t go wrong with any of the choices here but one popular spot is the Kasematten Düsseldorf that offers Mediterranean dishes, Nordic cuisine and affordable cocktails. 

Casemates Dusseldorf

Open 10am to 12am 

40213 Dusseldorf, Germany

After dinner drinks or activity: Salon des Amateurs 

If you’re into EDM (electronic dance music) and clubbing, you’ll definitely enjoy Salon de Amateurs. This is especially handy if you’re in Düsseldorf for the weekend as they’re only open on Fridays and Saturdays! 

Amateur’s Salon

tombstone 4, 40213 Dusseldorf

Open 6 pm to 2 am on Fridays and Saturdays 

Two Days in Dusseldorf Itinerary

In addition to the one-day plan mentioned above, you can explore more of Düsseldorf on your second day; 

Morning Snack: Cafe Extrablatt 

In the mood for some breakfast buffet? This is where you need to go. They have an expansive menu which includes American food, salads, sandwiches, and more. Perfect for a quick pit stop to set you up for the day. 

Cafe Extrablatt 

Grünstrasse 15, 40212 Düsseldorf

Open 8:30 am to 11 pm on Sundays to Fridays and up to 12:30 am on Fridays and Saturdays 

+49 211 8628280

Activity: Shop Until You Drop at Koenigsallee 

Germany may not be known for its shopping districts but Königsallee can rival any Parisian street for designer brands. Known as “Kö” by locals, this street has become a household name for the wealthy and elite. 

Whether you’re there to buy the latest bag from your favorite fashion house or just to window shop, this shopping strip is also a must-see! 

Lunch: Tino’s Bar

Live piano music, European dishes and champagne served in a classy bar with sofas and modern artwork.

Tinos Bar

Koenigsallee 59, 40215 Dusseldorf

Open from 11 am to 12 am on Sundays to Fridays and up to 2 am on Fridays to Sundays

Closed on Sundays 

+49 211 53808138

Activity: Sky Spa 

The swimming pool in the Spa facilities in Hotel Nikko

After two hectic days, you deserve to rest and relax! Pamper yourself at the Sky Spa of Hotel Nikko Düsseldorf! It’s already pretty amazing that you get to treat yourself to a massage or a facial, or just enjoy the pool, but to have fantastic views as well is taking it to another level!  

Dinner: Hotel Nikko Japanese Benkay restaurant

In the living lobby of Hotel Nikko discover Benkay sushi bar , a modern fusion kitchen.

Under the motto “Japan meets Rhineland” head chef Marco Schmidt reinterprets European classics with Japanese style. In stark contrast to this, master Hisato Mochizuki’s sushi bar serves authentic sushi and sashimi specialties. Our stylish bar provides the necessary backdrop to achieve this harmony. Let yourself drift between tradition and modernity sampling each appetizing morsel.

Get sashimi a la carte, sushi sets, udon or Japanese-style burgers. Order matcha tea and revel in their selection of sake and Japanese whiskey. 

After dinner drinks or activity: Explore Little Tokyo (Japanese Quarter)

Here’s a fun fact: Düsseldorf is home to the largest Japanese community in Germany. And what better way to celebrate their rich culture than visiting Little Tokyo? Authentic Japanese restaurants and izakayas or pubs serve fresh sushi and other delectable meals, which were declared as Intangible Cultural Heritage in 2013. 

Undeniably, it is one of the liveliest quarters in Düsseldorf, with its Japanese-themed bakeries, ramen snack bars, supermarkets, bookshops selling manga or comic books, and more! You would often see otakus (anime or manga fans), foodies, and office workers coming together here. 

Where to stay in Dusseldorf 

Located in the heart of Little Tokyo, Hotel Nikko Düsseldorf is conveniently located within a few minutes of tourist favorites like Königsallee and Kö-Bogen. The hotel is also near the old town and the Rhine promenade, the banking district as well as the main railway station. 

Most importantly, if you’re coming in from a long journey, Hotel Nikko Düsseldorf is just ten minutes away from its International Airport and the Düsseldorf Trade Fair Center by car or train. Check out our comfortable and modern hotel rooms and suites in Düsseldorf today! 

People also read...

Beginnen Sie mit der Planung Ihrer Reise!

Buchen Sie Ihre perfekte Auszeit unter Hotel Nikko.

Book your stay

minus 1 night-plus 1 night+
CLOSE

Die besten Aktivitäten in Düsseldorf: Reiseplan für einen oder zwei Tage

Have you seen enough of Berlin and Frankfurt? How about a short detour to colorful Düsseldorf?

Hier finden Sie ein paar Gründe, warum Sie Düsseldorf erkunden sollten, sowie Reisetipps und einen Reiseplan für einen ein- oder zweitägigen Besuch!

Warum sollten Sie Düsseldorf besuchen?

Düsseldorf ist als junge und pulsierende Stadt bekannt und gilt als bedeutendste Universitätsstadt des Landes. Auch viele Wissenschaftler und Künstler sehen in Düsseldorf ein wichtiges Zentrum für Kunst, Kultur und Mode. Wussten Sie, dass Düsseldorf eine der Städte mit den meisten Museen und Galerien Deutschlands ist? Mit mehr als 20 Museen, die alle nah beieinander liegen, wird es einem leicht gemacht, die Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt zu entdecken und zu genießen.

Mit breiten Straßen, die von eleganten Geschäften, Parks und Gärten gesäumt sind, wartet Düsseldorf auch mit einem lebendigen Stadtzentrum auf. Ein typisches Beispiel: Düsseldorf ist berühmt für die „längste Theke der Welt“, zu finden in der Altstadt.

Wann ist der beste Zeitpunkt für einen Besuch?

Die meisten Webseiten mit Reiseempfehlungen geben die Monate September bis Dezember an, aber eigentlich gibt es keine „beste Zeit“ für einen Besuch, denn der Charme der Stadt schlägt jedes Wetter und jede Jahreszeit. Und wie bei jeder anderen Reise auch hängt es natürlich von Ihrem Zeitplan und Ihren geplanten Aktivitäten ab.

Reiseplan für einen Tag in Düsseldorf

Hier ist Ihr Reiseführer für einen ein- oder zweitägigen Aufenthalt in Düsseldorf.

Frühstück: Rosie’s

Beginnen Sie Ihren Tag in dieser gemütlichen Bar, die ein leckeres Frühstück und kontinentale Küche mit veganen und glutenfreien Optionen serviert. Haben wir schon erwähnt, dass sich dieses Restaurant auch extrem gut auf Instagram präsentieren lässt? Perfekt für Ihre „Coffee o’clock“-Instastory!

Rosie’s

Geöffnet von 10:00 Uhr bis 1:00 Uhr nachts

Adersstraße 21, 40215 Düsseldorf

+49 211 8766666

Morgenaktivität: Rheinturm und Schifffahrtsmuseum

Der Rheinturm ist zweifellos das bekannteste Wahrzeichen Düsseldorfs. Er steht stolz am Rand des südlichen Stadtteils. Die Aussichtsplattform ist von 10:00 Uhr bis Mitternacht begehbar.

Die Plattform befindet sich in 172,5 Metern Höhe oben auf dem Turm. Dort gibt es ein Drehrestaurant, das sich alle 72 Minuten um die eigene Achse dreht. Das Restaurant verfügt auch über eine separate Aussichtsplattform, von der aus man einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die Metropole hat. Diese ist allerdings erst ab 18:00 Uhr geöffnet.

Wenn Sie nicht zu müde sind und vor dem Mittagessen noch eine Stunde Zeit haben, können Sie auch das Schifffahrtsmuseum besuchen. Das Museum ist auch eine Forschungseinrichtung!

 Rheinturm

Die Aussichtsplattform ist von 10:00 Uhr bis 18:00 Uhr begehbar.

Stromstraße 20, 40221 Düsseldorf

+49 211 8632000

 

Schifffahrtsmuseum

Geöffnet von 10:00 Uhr bis 18:00 Uhr

Deutsches Schifffahrtsmuseum

Hans-Scharoun-Platz 1

D-27568 Bremerhaven

+49 471 482 07 0

Mittagessen: Erkunden und Essen in der Altstadt – Bob & Mary’s

Düsseldorfs Altstadt bietet rund 260 Kneipen und Bars, eine davon mit der längsten Theke der Welt!

Wenn Sie etwas essen wollen, besuchen Sie Bob & Mary’s, das für seine saftigen Burger und leckeren Salate bekannt ist. Bob’s Burger Patties werden täglich aus 100 % frischem Rindfleisch aus Deutschland mit besonders viel Rindfleisch gemacht. Es stehen verschiedene Arten von Burger wie Avocado-Burger und Ziegenkäse-Burger zur Auswahl!

Bob & Mary’s

Berger Str. 35, 40213 Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen Deutschland

+49 211 86930710

Nachmittagsaktivität: Rhein-Flussfahrt

Erkunden Sie diese spannende Stadt über ihren Fluss! Das Beste daran ist, dass Sie einen fantastischen Blick auf den alten und den modernen Teil der Stadt bekommen! Die meisten dieser Fahrten dauern nur eine oder zwei Stunden und kosten zwischen 15 und 25 €, je nach Dauer der Fahrt und ob Sie Hin- oder Rückfahrt buchen wollen.

Es gibt mehrere Flussfahrtanbieter, daher empfehlen wir, sich im Voraus zu informieren und die Tickets frühzeitig zu buchen!

Abendessen: Nach der Bootsfahrt zu den Kasematten Düsseldorf können Sie in einer der Bars an der Rheinpromenade zu Abend essen und etwas trinken

Nach der Bootsfahrt können Sie die Sehenswürdigkeiten und Klänge der Stadt bei einem Abendessen in einem der Restaurants entlang des Rheins weiter genießen. Hier können Sie nichts falsch machen, aber ein besonders beliebtes Lokal ist die Kasematten Düsseldorf, die mediterrane Gerichte, nordische Küche und erschwingliche Cocktails anbietet.

Kasematten Düsseldorf

Geöffnet von 10:00 Uhr bis 00:00 Uhr

40213 Düsseldorf, Deutschland

Getränke oder Aktivitäten nach dem Abendessen: Salon des Amateurs

Wenn Sie auf elektronische Tanzmusik und Clubbing stehen, werden Sie sicher Gefallen finden am Salon des Amateurs. Das trifft vor allem zu, wenn Sie am Wochenende in Düsseldorf sind, da er nur freitags und samstags geöffnet hat!

Salon des Amateurs

Grabbepl. 4, 40213 Düsseldorf

Freitags und samstags von 18:00 bis 2:00 Uhr geöffnet

Reiseplan für zwei Tage in Düsseldorf

Zusätzlich zum oben beschriebenen Reiseplan können Sie Düsseldorf am zweiten Tag noch weiter erkunden;

Vormittagsimbiss: Cafe Extrablatt

Lust auf ein Frühstücksbuffet? Dann sollten Sie hier hingehen. Die Speisekarte ist hier sehr umfangreich und bietet amerikanische Gerichte, Salate, Sandwiches und vieles mehr. Ideal für einen kurzen Boxenstopp, um sich für den Tag zu stärken.

 

Cafe Extrablatt

Grünstraße 15, 40212 Düsseldorf

Sonntags bis freitags von 8:30 Uhr bis 23:00 Uhr und freitags und samstags bis 12:30 Uhr geöffnet

+49 211 8628280

Aktivität: Shoppen bis zum Umfallen auf der Königsallee

Deutschland ist zwar nicht als Shoppingparadies bekannt, aber die Königsallee kann es in Sachen Designermarken mit jeder Straße in Paris aufnehmen. Diese Straße, von den Einheimischen „Kö“ genannt, ist zu einem Inbegriff für die Wohlhabenden und Betuchten geworden.

Ob Sie nun die neueste Tasche Ihres Lieblingsmodehauses shoppen oder einfach nur einen Schaufensterbummel machen wollen, diese Einkaufsstraße ist ein Muss!

 

Mittagessen: Tino’s Bar

Live-Klaviermusik, europäische Gerichte und Champagner, serviert in einer stilvollen Bar mit Sofas und modernen Kunstwerken.

 

Tino’s Bar

Königsallee 59, 40215 Düsseldorf

Sonntags bis freitags von 11:00 Uhr bis 24:00 Uhr und freitags bis sonntags bis 14:00 Uhr geöffnet

Sonntags geschlossen

+49 211 53808138

 

Aktivität: Sky Spa

Nach zwei hektischen Tagen haben Sie sich eine Ruhepause und Entspannung verdient! Lassen Sie sich im Sky Spa des Hotels Nikko Düsseldorf verwöhnen! Sie sich eine Massage oder eine Gesichtsbehandlung zu gönnen oder einfach nur den Pool zu entspannen, ist schon toll, aber die fantastische Aussicht setzt noch eins drauf!

Abendessen: Japanisches Restaurant im Hotel Nikko

In der lebhaften Lobby des Hotels Nikko findet sich die Sushi-Bar Benkai, eine moderne Fusionsküche.

Unter dem Motto „Japan trifft auf das Rheinland“ interpretiert Küchenchef Marco Schmidt europäische Klassiker im japanischen Stil neu. Im krassen Gegensatz dazu serviert die Sushi-Bar von Meister Hisato Mochizuki authentische Sushi- und Sashimi-Spezialitäten. Unsere stilvolle Bar bietet den nötigen Rahmen, um diese Harmonie zu erreichen. Wandeln Sie zwischen Tradition und Moderne und probieren Sie die appetitlichen Happen.

Es gibt Sashimi à la carte, Sushi-Boxen, Udon oder japanische Burger. Bestellen Sie dazu Matcha-Tee und genießen Sie eine Auswahl an Sake und japanischem Whiskey.

 

Getränke oder Aktivitäten nach dem Abendessen: Entdecken Sie Little Tokyo (Japanisches Viertel)

Hier ein kleiner Funfact: In Düsseldorf lebt die größte japanischen Gemeinde Deutschlands. Und wie könnte man Japans reiche Kultur besser feiern als mit einem Besuch Little Tokyos? Authentische japanische Restaurants und Izakayas (Kneipen) servieren frisches Sushi und andere köstliche Speisen, die 2013 zum immateriellen Kulturerbe erklärt wurden.

Mit seinen japanischen Bäckereien, Ramen-Imbissständen, Supermärkten, Manga- und Comicläden und vielem mehr ist Little Tokyo zweifellos eines der lebendigsten Viertel Düsseldorfs! Oft finden sich hier Otakus (Anime- oder Manga-Fans), Feinschmecker und Büroangestellte zusammen.

Übernachten in Düsseldorf

Das Hotel Nikko Düsseldorf befindet sich im Herzen Little Tokyos und ist nur wenige Minuten von Touristenattraktionen wie der Königsallee und dem Kö-Bogen entfernt. Die Altstadt und die Rheinpromenade, das Bankenviertel sowie der Hauptbahnhof sind auch nicht weit entfernt.

Vor allem wenn Sie eine längere Reise hinter sich haben, bietet sich das Hotel Nikko Düsseldorf an – es liegt nur zehn Minuten mit dem Auto oder der Bahn vom internationalen Flughafen und der Messe Düsseldorf entfernt. Informieren Sie sich noch heute über unsere komfortablen und modernen Hotelzimmer und Suiten in Düsseldorf!

People also read...

Beginnen Sie mit der Planung Ihrer Reise!

Buchen Sie Ihre perfekte Auszeit unter Hotel Nikko.

Hier bleiben & buchen

minus 1 night-plus 1 night+
CLOSE